Board Members

Cr. Darren McCubbin (Chair)
Former chair of the Gippsland Local Government Network and three times Mayor of Wellington Shire. Local Councillor for 14 years and graduate of the Gippsland Leadership Program. B.Sc (Hons) in Atmospheric Physics and former climate officer with Bureau of Meteorology.

Andrea Klindworth (Vice Chair)
Former Executive Officer (Gippsland Regional Waste Management Group), Industry Advisor (Sustainability Victoria) and Science Lecturer (Deakin University). During 2013, Australian Volunteer International in Palau. Current member of ATA, Baw Baw Sustainability Network, Environment Voice (BBSC) and the Rotary Club of Warragul.

Ian Southall (Executive Officer)
Project Officer with Mirboo North Community Energy Project with a long history of engagement with various community energy groups.

Chris Barfoot (Project Manager LV PowerHub)
Chris hold a Bachelor Degree in Applied Science and a Masters Degree in Engineering Science. He worked in all aspects of power generation and mining in the Latrobe Valley for 33 years. Now retired he brings extensive knowledge of the power industry, project management and business development to the renewable energy sector.

Ashley Hall (DELWP)
Expertise as a Grant Officer and Executive Officer with several Gippsland Environment Agencies. (SV, SRW, PV, EGCMA, WGCMA, DELWP, EPA) connected to local government sustainability officers and Sustainability Groups with strong knowledge of sustainability projects across the state. Links to High schools and Sustainability education

Lorraine Bull
President of Latrobe Valley Sustainability Group following on from a lifetime of environmental consciousness. Lorraine retired from Latrobe Regional Hospital in 2011, where she had worked as a Health Information Manager for 34 years.

Bernie Rowley
Director, Rose & Fuchsia Farm. Member Trafalgar Community Development Association, member Baw Baw Sustainability Network.

Liz Clay
Former chair of West Gippsland Catchment Management Authority. Liz is a certified organic farmer of mixed vegetables and beef from Noojee in West Gippsland. She served two terms on the World Board of the International Federation of Organic Agriculture Movements (IFOAM). She currently sits on the Gippsland Food Plan Working Group as part of the Gippsland Regional Plan implementation.

Rod Horton
Managing Director of NRGwise, involved in the Renewable Energy Industry for approx. seven years and currently involved in working with mostly small and medium businesses assisting them to reduce their energy consumption, using technologies such as Solar power, LED Lighting and energy efficient solar and Heat pump hot water systems.

Tony Wolfe
Former Councillor Baw Baw Shire, Graduate Australian Rural Leadership Program & Gippsland Community Leadership Program, Chapter Leader Victorian International Dark-Sky Association, recipient of MAV Local Government Fellowship to study streetlight reduction programs worldwide, former Director on various Boards and member of Baw Baw Sustainability Network.

Dr Baher Zaghlool
Former Civil Asset Engineer at Engie Hazelwood, DEDJTR reviewer of seismic stability of LV mine assets, Proof Engineer of the Victorian Desalination Plant, Design Manager of the Adelaide Desalination Plant and Royal Children’s Hospital in Melbourne, Research Fellow in Structural Engineering at University of Canterbury. PhD (Structures), ME (Geotech), BE (Hons) Civil.

Alex W. Arbuthnot AM
Awarded an Order of Australia Medal (AM) for services to agriculture & landcare Awarded National Farmers Award
of Honour. Director, Agribusiness Gippsland Inc; & Dep. Chair Victorian Agribusiness Council, Director Arbuthnot Sawmills, Bilingual Education Foundation Australia (BEFA) Committee