The pilot Community Power Hubs project is an innovative approach supported by SV and the Vic Government to help local communities grow community owned renewable energy. There is a lot of interest in the pilot, the three pilot sites, the projects they are working on, and how they can be supported.

The projects are community led, with support and funding from SV and State Government. Power to the people!

What is the Pilot Community Power Hubs Program?

The Pilot Community Power Hubs program is an innovative program to support the development and growth of renewable community energy in three regional communities from 2017-2019. If the program is successful, it has potential to be rolled out across other communities in Victoria.

The program is being led by local community groups (the “Hub Hosts”), locally based Not for Profit organisations who have previous experience in renewable energy, with support from Sustainability Victoria and funding from the State Government ($110,000 to each Hub per year).

Three pilot Community Power Hubs were established this year in Bendigo, Ballarat and Latrobe Valley. Each Hub is made up of a roundtable of local organisations that will work together to investigate and develop community energy projects in their areas.

The hubs will develop renewable energy projects, then work with consultants to determine the feasibility of each project and seek funding for the implementation. The funding will be used to conduct feasibility studies between now and 2019.


Each hub is looking in to the feasibility of renewable energy projects in their areas. Details can be found here: